Saturday, March 25, 2023
Google search engine
HomeSportAsian Chess Championship: Praggnanandhaa, Nandhidhaa clinch titles

Asian Chess Championship: Praggnanandhaa, Nandhidhaa clinch titles

Exhibiting super resilience, R. Praggnanandhaa cleared a troublesome take a look at by his Indian Oil colleague B. Adhiban with some high quality defence and have become the Asian chess champion as India monopolised the rostrum in each sections right here on Thursday.

Assured of the ladies’s title value $,6000, with a spherical to spare, P. V. Nandhidhaa (7.5 factors) reached a profitable place towards reigning Nationwide champion Divya Deshmukh however selected to attract by a three-fold repetition of strikes. Ultimately, this Electronics and Communications engineer from Chennai claimed the most important profession of her title by a one-point margin.

After Praggnanandhaa claimed the title at 7 factors from 9 rounds and the winner’s share of $7,000, Harsha Bharathakoti topped a six-way tie for the second spot at 6.5 factors. Adhiban and second seed S. L. Narayanan accomplished the top-four spots to qualify for the following World Cup. These tied for the second spot acquired $2,950 every.

The 2 World Cup spots from the ladies’s part went to Nandhidhaa and N. Priyanka, who escaped to victory towards the 2019 champion Padmini Rout. Divya gained from the generosity of Nandhidhaa to complete third, forward of Vietnam’s Vo Thi Kim Phong.

After the second and third boards led to attracts, Praggnanandhaa-Adhiban battle was changed into a title-deciding one. A draw was sufficient for Praggnanandhaa whereas Adhiban wanted a victory.

Curiously, this intense 63-move draw noticed the trade of queens and rooks however the one pawn-capture passed off on the 58th transfer earlier than the gamers repeated strikes.

Blitz titles for Divya, Rinat

Later, Praggnanandhaa missed an opportunity to make it a golden ‘double’ after shedding the ninth and remaining spherical of the blitz competitors to eventual champion Kazakhstan’s Rinat Jumabayev. The ladies’s title went to Divya Deshmukh.

Three Indians make GM norms

Considerably, M. Pranesh, Viani Antonio Dcunha, Koustav Chatterjee and Turkmenistan’s Saparmyrat Atabaeyev achieved Grandmaster norms. Sambit Panda, Aaryan Varshney, Ayush Sharma, Turkmenistan’s Azat Nurmamedov and Uzbekistan’s Saidakbar Saydaliev gained Worldwide Grasp norms.

Main Ninth-round outcomes (Indians except acknowledged):

Open: B. Adhiban (6.5) drew with R. Praggnanandhaa (7); S. L. Narayanan (6.5) drew with Shamsiddin Vokhidov (Uzb, 6.5); Harsha Bharathakoti (6.5) drew with Karthik Venkataraman (6.5); S. P. Sethuraman (6.5) bt Koustav Chatterjee (5.5); M. Pranesh (6) drew with M. Shyam Sundar (6).

Girls: Divya Deshmukh (6.5) drew with P. V. Nandhidhaa (7.5); N. Priyanka (6.5) bt Padmini Rout (6); Soumya Swaminathan (5) misplaced to Vo Thi Kim Phung (Vie, 6.5); Rakshitta Ravi (5) misplaced to Liya Kurmangaliyeva (Kaz, 6); Kiran Manisha Mohanty (5) misplaced to Nguyen Thi Mai Hung (Vie, 6); Tania Sachdev (5) drew with Vantika Agrawal (5.5).

High-10 standings:

Open: 1. R. Praggnanandhaa (7 factors), 2-7. Harsha Bharathakoti, B. Adhiban, S. L. Narayanan, Shamsiddin Vokhidov (Uzb), S. P. Sethuraman, Karthik Venkataraman (6.5 every); 8-10. M. Pranesh, Viani Antonio Dcunha and Pranav Anand (6 every).

Girls: 1. P. V. Nandhidhaa (7.5 factors), 2-4. N. Priyanka, Divya Deshmukh, Vo Thi Kim Phung (Vie) (6.5 every), 5-7. Liya Kurmangaliyeva (Kaz), Nguyen Thi Mai Hung (Vie), Padmini Rout (6 every), 8-10. Aakanksha Hagawane, Nisha Mohota and Vantika Agrawal (5.5 every).

Source link

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments