Tuesday, November 29, 2022
Google search engine
HomeSportFIFA World Cup 2022: Eriksen included as Denmark announces squad

FIFA World Cup 2022: Eriksen included as Denmark announces squad

Denmark coach Kasper Hjulmand stored religion with the gamers who delivered the current profitable World Cup qualifying and Nations League campaigns as he named 21 of the 26-man squad that can journey to the World Cup finals in Qatar on Monday.

The remaining 5 gamers will likely be revealed following the final spherical of European fixtures earlier than the match and the ultimate checklist have to be delivered to FIFA by Monday November 13, with the World Cup set to get underway precisely per week later.

“Many issues can occur,” Hjulmand stated. “It’s unsolvable, but it surely’s the best method to do it – there are two video games left for a lot of of our gamers, and that may simply change issues.”

The squad was unveiled in a slick video that featured a reworked model of the Danish nationwide anthem alongside Danish followers and well-known faces akin to former striker Nicklas Bendtner and former prime minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt.

Catch the latest updates and news from the FIFA World Cup 2022

Hjulmand included captain Simon Kjaer and playmaker talisman Christian Eriksen, who has recovered totally from the center assault he suffered in Copenhagen throughout Euro 2020, in a squad with no scarcity of big-game expertise.

Hertha Berlin goalkeeper Oliver Christensen, Leeds United defender Rasmus Kristensen and Eintracht Frankfurt ahead Jesper Lindstrom are the one gamers that haven’t performed on the finals of a serious match for Denmark earlier than.

“There are ten or 12 gamers nonetheless in rivalry for the final 5 spots,” Hjulmand stated, holding the door open for the likes of midfielder Christian Norgaard and ahead Yussuf Poulsen, who weren’t included within the 21-man checklist.

The Danes will tackle Tunisia, France and Australia at their sixth World Cup finals. They achieved their greatest end result on the 1998 match in France after they reached the quarter-finals, the place they misplaced 3-2 to Brazil. 


Casper Schmeichel, Oliver Christensen, Andreas Christensen, Joachim Andersen, Joakim Maehle, Daniel Wass, Jens Stryger Larsen, Victor Nelsson, Rasmus Nissen Kristensen, Jesper Lindstrom, Mathias Jensen, Simon Kjaer, Thomas Delaney, Christian Eriksen, Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg, Andreas Skov Olsen, Mikkel Damsgaard, Jonas Wind, Martin Braithwaite, Kasper Dolberg, Andreas Cornelius

Source link

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments