Tuesday, March 28, 2023
Google search engine
HomeSportIND v BAN: India top-order in focus in Bangladesh ODIs

IND v BAN: India top-order in focus in Bangladesh ODIs

Shikhar Dhawan and Ok. L. Rahul will intention to cement their place as openers and a top-heavy Indian batting line-up will intention to indicate extra intent in the course of the three-match ODI sequence Bangladesh that begins on Sunday.

The main target for the subsequent 12 months will primarily be on ODIs through which India’s strategy, simply as in T20Is, wants a sea change.

There are quite a few gamers combating for a couple of spots within the Indian white-ball staff. It isn’t the proverbial ‘good headache’ for the staff administration as such a situation is suggestive of an unsettled line-up.

Till not too long ago, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have been computerized picks as India’s most well-liked ODI opening pair. However Dhawan’s gradual strategy within the Powerplay overs and the emergence of Shubman Gill as a potent 50-over opener are sure to throw up many potentialities. Rahul performed a couple of video games within the center order a 12 months or so in the past however he likes to bat on the high and has had a good quantity of success, too.

Paradoxically, numbers or statistics don’t give a transparent indication of who must be Rohit’s opening accomplice for the sequence. For the 19 ODI innings Dhawan opened for India this 12 months, he had a poor strike charge of 75.11. Rahul, then again, has 5 centuries and 10 fifties in 45 ODIs with a wholesome strike charge 85-plus. He has a powerful common of 45, too.

ALSO READ – Deepak Chahar shares harrowing flight experience

For the opening match in opposition to Bangladesh, in case the staff administration desires to relaxation Dhawan, who could also be jetlagged having flown all the best way from Australia to affix the staff in Mirpur, Rahul will definitely be a part of Rohit on the high.

Center-order riddle

Whereas Virat Kohli at No. 3 is an computerized alternative, Shreyas Iyer is step by step securing his place as India’s No. 4. Rishabh Pant, after his heroics within the ODI sequence in England, stays forward of Ishan Kishan to start out as No. 5 within the line-up.

Pant has copped flak for a few of his low cost dismissals in T20s, however regardless of some underwhelming reveals within the not too long ago concluded sequence, he stays the first-choice keeper in 50-over format. Kishan, who prefers opening in T20s, has obtained all his three half-centuries in ODIs batting at both No. 3 or 4. It’s believed that Kishan isn’t being checked out as a finisher. If he’s performed, he needs to be fitted someplace in high 4.

ALSO READ – Umran Malik replaces injured Shami for Bangladesh series

However this entire equation may very well be turned the wrong way up if Rahul decides to maintain wickets, one thing which he has completed sporadically prior to now.

With Sanju Samson not enjoying this sequence, Rajat Patidar and Rahul Tripathi, two constant home cricket and IPL performers, will fancy an opportunity or two to remain within the combine. Tripathi can also be a seam bowler, and within the absence of Hardik Pandya, who’s rested to lighten his workload, the Pune man may simply present a back-up possibility.

Likelihood to check Umran’s expertise on useless tracks

With Mohammed Shami dominated out because of a shoulder harm, Umran Malik has an opportunity to indicate a distinct aspect of his bowling on tracks which can be anticipated to be batting-friendly. The pitches are prone to be a tad slower. Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur look sure to start out in opposition to a Bangladesh facet that may miss common skipper Tamim Iqbal.

The Indian staff mustn’t have forgotten the latest pasting that they obtained from newly-appointed ODI captain Litton Das in a T20 World Cup match in Adelaide. Litton will like to steer from the entrance however it’s the bowling that can be examined, as Taskim Ahmed is just not enjoying. Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain, and Shakib Al Hasan kind a potent assault nevertheless it received’t be as formidable.


Bangladesh: Litton Das, Anamul Hague Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir All Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmud Ullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shoriful Islam.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Ok. L. Rahul (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj.

Match begins: 11:30 am IST.

Source link

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments